Route de Préchac sur l'Adour, 32160, PLAISANCE du GERS

HISTORIC WEAPONS & BLACK POWDER

A big thank you to Jean Luc YELMA for writing this page and many thanks to Rod Haselden-Nicholls for translating it.


LOADING

We start, of course, with a weapon that is clean and in full working order.

The first step is to introduce the powder, either into the barrel of a rifle, or alternatively into a chamber of the cylinder of a revolver. One generally uses Black Powder, in the form of “powder”, poured from the dosing cup of a powder flask (pear). There are also ready-made charges in the form of an agglomerated block of powder. Personally, I do not like the latter as much because there is no flexibility with the ability to vary the size of the dose that suits my need.

Black Powder has a fairly low compressability level which does not increase with quantity, so dosing errors are generally not too dangerous. However, the powder must always be "packed", that is, in contact with the ball without an air gap. This is very important as it allows the igniting powder to act on the ball immediately avoiding too much pressure to build up during ignition. Also, with Black Powder revolvers, where the ball is pushed in by the ramrod (ram-rod under the barrel), one must add an inert element (semolina) between the powder and the ball in case of under dosage.

Then we introduce the ball and push it (with the ramrod) until it comes into contact with the powder or the inert element. Depending on the type of weapon, the ball is introduced naked (for revolvers) or for rifles it is “wrapped” in either fabric or paper.

The ball must be greased, for good lubrication of the barrel. In the case of spherical warheads for revolvers, one must put a little fat over it. This creates a better seal and will avoid several chambers in the cylinder igniting at the same time.

This is very important and I have experienced multiple firings on countless occasions. This may not damage a closed-frame steel weapon (eg a Remington 1858) but it may irreparably damage an open-frame brass weapon (eg a Colt 1851).This is why the rear part of a revolver on either side of the hammer is often referred to as "the shield"!

Once the weapon is loaded it must be primed. On percussion weapons, cock the hammer and place a small copper capsule containing fulminate of mercury on the “nipple” (rear part of the combustion chamber) and, on flintlock weapons, a small amount of priming powder is placed in the flashpan.

References:

Loading The 1858 Remington Percussion Revolver

Learn to Load a Traditional Muzzleloading Black Powder Rifle


CHOICE OF BLACK POWDER

Use only black powder.

On your weapons, you will normally find engraved on the barrel the words "Black Powder Only" (“seulement poudre noire”).  Attention: this concerns especially the replicas of today, but be aware that this requirement may NOT be engraved on original, historic weapons. In any case, never use another type of powder.

Black powder is the only suitable and safest propellant to use with a muzzle-loading weapon, because, when black powder is used as a propellant, it exerts a relatively low pressure on the mechanics of the weapon.

Even modern replicas of historic weapons, with barrels constructed of steel, are not designed to withstand the high pressures of modern smoke-free powder.


Black powder exists in several granulations, see below:

1f or Fg

The largest granulation, to be used mainly for large-caliber weapons.


2f or FFg or (Musket Shot - gray angular grain 0.6-1.2mm)

Finer granulation than 1f, it can be used for .50 caliber weapons and 10 and 12 gauge juxtaposed guns.


3f or FFFg or (PNF2 - shiny black angular grains 0.25-0.70mm)

This standard granulation powder is recommended for .31 to .36 and .44 revolvers.


4f or FFFFg or (PNF4 - shiny black angular grain 0,1-0,25mm)

This is the powder of finest granulation, recommended for pistols and revolvers of caliber .31 to .36 (maximum), and to prime flintlock weapons.


Keep the black powder away from any source of heat, and in its original packaging, but especially never in plastic containers because of electrostatic charges.

Also avoid those powder-measures not adapted for black powder – the tube containing the black powder must be replaced by an aluminum tube; enquire at your gun-smith.

Failure to do so could cause a spark and a "BOOM ".

Route de Préchac sur l'Adour, 32160, PLAISANCE du GERS

ARMES ANCIENNES ET POUDRE NOIRE


LE CHARGEMENT

Nous commençons, bien sur, avec une arme propre et nettoyée.

La première étape consiste à introduire la poudre. Dans le canon d'une arme longue ou dans le barillet d'un revolver. On utilise généralement de la poudre en "poudre", dosée à partir du godet doseur d'une poire à poudre. Il existe aussi des charges toutes prêtes qui se présentent sous la forme d'un bloc de poudre aggloméré. Personnellement je n'aime pas trop car il n'y a pas de flexibilité c'est à dire la possibilité de doser exactement ce que l'on veux.

La poudre noire à un plateau de pression assez basse et qui n'augmente pas en fonction de la quantité, donc les erreurs de dosages ne sont généralement pas trop dangereuses. Par contre la poudre doit toujours être "tassée" c'est à dire en contact avec la balle sans vide d'air. Cela est très important pour éviter les surpressions. Aussi avec les revolvers, ou la balle est poussée par le ramrod (levier pressoir situé sous le canon) il faut rajouter un élément inerte (semoule) entre la poudre et la balle en cas de sous dosage.

Ensuite on introduit la balle et on la pousse (ramrod, baguette) jusqu'au contact de la poudre.

En fonction du type d'arme soit la balle est introduite nue (revolver) soit elle est emballée dans un calepin (tissus, papier) pour les armes longues.

La balle se doit d'être graissée, pour une bonne lubrification du canon, et dans le cas des ogives sphériques pour les révolvers il faut mettre un peu de graisse dessus. Celle ci permet une relative étanchéité et évitera que plusieurs chambres s'allument en même temps.

Cela est très important, il m'est arrivé d'innombrable fois d'avoir des départs multiples. Si cela ne prête pas à conséquence sur une arme en acier à cadre fermé (ex remington 1858) cela est souvent fatal à une arme en laiton à cadre ouvert (ex colt 1851). D'ailleurs la partie arrière d'un revolver, celle située de part et d'autre du chien, se nomme "le bouclier", ce n'est pas pour rien.

Une fois l'arme chargé il faut l'amorcer. Sur les armes à percussion il s'agit d'une petite capsule de cuivre contenant du fulminate de mercure qui est placée sur la cheminée (partie arrière de la chambre de combustion) et sur les armes à silex il s'agit d'un peu de poudre fine (pulvérin) qui est placée dans le bassinet.


 

CHOIX DE LA POUDRE NOIRE:

Utilisez exclusivement de la poudre noire.

Sur vos armes, vous trouverez normalement gravé sur le canon les mots "Black Powder only” (seulement poudre noire) attention ceci concerne surtout les répliques d'aujourd'hui, méfiez-vous avec les armes d'origine, donc dans tous les cas, ne jamais utiliser un autre type de poudre.

La poudre noire est le seul propulseur convenable et le plus sûr à utiliser avec une arme à chargement par la bouche, lorsque la poudre noire est employée comme propulseur, elle engendre une pression relativement basse sur la mécanique de l’arme.

Les répliques d’armes anciennes, bien que construites avec des canons en acier actuel, ne sont pas conçues pour résister aux hautes pressions produites par la poudre sans fumée moderne.

La poudre noire existe en plusieurs granulations, voir ci-dessous:


1f ou Fg

La plus grosse granulation, à utiliser essentiellement pour les armes de gros calibre.


2f ou FFg ou ( Mousquet Tir - grise grains anguleux 0,6-1,2mm )

De granulation plus fine que la 1f, elle peut être utilisée pour les armes de calibre .50 et les fusils à canons juxtaposés de calibre.10 et.12.


3f ou FFFg ou ( PNF2 - noire brillante grains anguleux 0,25-0,70mm)

Cette poudre, de granulation standard, est recommandée pour les revolvers en calibre .31 - 36 et 44.


4f ou FFFFg ou (PNF4 - noire brillante grains anguleux 0,1-0,25mm)

c’est la poudre de plus faible granulation, conseillée pour pistolets et revolvers de calibre 31 à 36 maxi., et pour amorcer les armes à silex.

Conservez la poudre noire à l’abri de toute source de chaleur, et dans son emballage d'origine, mais surtout jamais dans des récipients en matière plastique à cause des charges électrostatiques, faites aussi attention à certaines doseuses de poudre non adaptées à la poudre noire le tube retenant celle-ci doit être remplacé par un tube en aluminium renseignez-vous auprès de votre armurier car à la moindre étincelle,""BOOUM"".

Merci à Jean Luc YELMA pour ces informations


LIENS :

Les fabricants de répliques

Davide Pedersoli

Uberti

Pietta


Les forums

Forum poudre noire

Poudre noire forumactif

Feu libre